Chicago Mermaid

 

As proud as I am of my Irish heritage, I will admit that we believe in some pretty goofy shit.

We are fishermen from way back and believe in any number of aquatic phantasms–nymphs, Jenny-Linds, Selkies, sea serpents and many other manifestations of floating apparitions.

Mermaids are the killers though. They are beautiful and imperiled, and many a Mick dipshit has dove overboard to “save” one clinging to a rock only to find that by the time he gets to her after fighting off a rolling sea.she actually looks like Don Knotts with tits.

I decided to make a Chicago Mermaid, a blues girl. Who wouldn’t do you like that. Who wouldn’t hide her beauty.  No. . .she would save you with the blues in shades of blue and green and velvety black.

This one too, is for my pal and fellow Mick, John Manion.

Published in: on October 15, 2012 at 5:27 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tonyfitzpatrick.wordpress.com/2012/10/15/chicago-mermaid/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your work is wonderful. (Hey, being a dreamer is part of our Irish DNA)

  2. “Mermaids are the killers though. They are beautiful and imperiled, and many a Mick dipshit has dove overboard to “save” one clinging to a rock only to find that by the time he gets to her after fighting off a rolling sea.she actually looks like Don Knotts with tits.”

    Hahaha! Don Knotts! Awww!

    Besides “The Andy Griffith Show” (I laugh when I think of him clearing his nose!) and “3’s Company,” I first heard of Don when he performed in the original “Apple Dumpling Gang” movie. Yeah, I was little, but I still remember. And just the mention of his name by you brought back a flood of happy memories and a good laugh. Thanks!

    From a mermaid who has a wee bit of Irish in her, I know exactly what you’re talking about. There’s a lot of “rock-clingers” out there. Fellas need to look for the free-swimmers… those who dream with music playing in the background, in shades of blues and greens and velvety black.. with a tinge of fiery red and opalescent stars. Life’s sweeter with a hint of spice and sugar. And when you’ve won the heart of a genuine mermaid, you know you’re a lucky fella!

    I have never been to Chicago… yet. I’ve been busy chasing Pirates and their grog. Everyone who knows me tells me I’d love it there. After reading your words for almost a year and looking at your art, I think they’re right… I’m liking Chicago already.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 351 other followers

