Thank You

thankyou

There is a lot of grace in the exchanging of gratitude. I always wonder whom to thank for the birds, the stars, the sound of my kids laughing, the tree on my street. . .one that every autumn, without fail, turns into this luminous yellow fire, leaf by leaf and for the cool collection of ’70s funk and slow jams on my iPod.

I try not to measure this world by what I don’t have and be grateful for what I do have. Sometimes people will ask me where I want to “take my career” next. The truth is, right here is fine. If you’d have told me 30 years ago that on this day I would have six of my etchings hanging in the Art Institute of Chicago in the same show with David Hockney and Robert Rauschenberg, Alex Katz, and Picasso, I wouldn’t have believed you. It didn’t seem possible. But I got here.

And here is just fine.

A lot of you helped me along the way, and I hope I thanked you. And if I didn’t, then I’m doing it now.

The show is called, “The Artist and the Poet.”

I haven’t gone to see it yet, truth be told I never thought I’d get to hang in this amazing institution in my lifetime–or deathtime for that matter.

Chances are when I roll up on my pieces, I don’t know what will happen. There is a good chance I will bitch-up and start crying. There is also the very good chance I’ll find my effort wanting. Whatever happens, I want to be ready for it.

But for over 30 years I’ve been doing this for a life.

It isn’t a “living,” it’s a life.  And if you’re reading this, chances are, in some way, you helped me get here.  Thank you for walking the miles with me.

Published in: on February 3, 2013 at 12:02 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tonyfitzpatrick.wordpress.com/2013/02/03/thank-you/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wonderful! I am glad for you.

  2. Congratulations, Tony and best wishes,
    TW

  3. Gratitude and grace aren’t things I openly wonder about because I get stuck and forget how I got here, it’s the WORK. You deserve all the recognition because it seems that you have dreamed not just of wondrous thing but have every day with every kind of effort possible, you have invented an art that I can only say, ” Look at the amount of work, look at the creativity”. I don’t always get everything you do (Hells Angels aren’t my cup of tea) but but I am grateful you continue to go into the studio daily and do it.
    Thanks, Jerry Peart

  4. […] via Thank You « No.9. […]


Leave a Reply

