Lunch Drawing: Pinwheel Spinner

Pinwheel Spinner

Spiders have always scared the hell out of me. Only lately have I stopped killing them. They are incredibly useful; eating nits and mosquitoes and flies and lots of them. Still. . . they give me the willies.

My favorite childhood story is about a spider, Charlotte’s Web. It is a gentle and beautiful meditation on the life-cycle, without all of the religious horseshit. At the end, when the hundreds of Charlotte’s babies are blown into the world, suspended by their silken-thread parachutes, I’d cry like a baby. My daughter, Gaby loved this story and for years, would make me read it to her at bedtime.

There is that part of me that wishes my daughter stayed 5 years old and didn’t lose her sense of wonder at Charlotte and Wilbur and their rustic life in a barn.

Now she is a half a world away , going to college in Florence. We Skype every day and I’m about to send her a box of Hot Cheetos and Skittles over there. Evidently the candy in Florence is lousy.

Maybe I’ll tuck in a copy of Charlotte’s Web.

Published in: on September 18, 2013 at 7:36 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tonyfitzpatrick.wordpress.com/2013/09/18/lunch-drawing-pinwheel-spinner/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

