Lunch Drawing #31: The Ice-Man’s Bird

The Ice Man's Bird

There is a silhouette of a woman in each of these drawings. That woman is my grandmother who, every morning, would toast a couple of pieces of bread and put jelly on them. She would then dice them up and toss them out the back door for the birds. When I asked her why she was giving our bread to the birds she would hold a finger up to her lips and tell me, “Listen. . .”

When I did, I heard blackbirds, mourning doves, warblers, finches,and sparrows.  My grandmother, Mae, would look down at me and tell me, “For a piece of bread, you can hear God sing.”

Some stories write themselves.

Published in: on January 10, 2014 at 7:21 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tonyfitzpatrick.wordpress.com/2014/01/10/lunch-drawing-31-the-ice-mans-bird/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Reblogged this on Doc Quill’s Weblog and commented:
    “Some stories write themselves.”


Leave a Reply

