Bird from a Crown of Knives

Bird from a Crown of Knives

In the song, you gently built your nest in a crown of knives.

Somebody sent me a picture of this bird on Facebook. I believe its proper name is a “Silver Eared Maltesia,” which sounds like a medication you take for the clap. One often sees these birds in the Asian bird markets, where they are sold tethered to sticks as cage birds; a stupid and cruel practice which I wish would cease. In fact, I wish all trafficking in exotic birds would be outlawed. I’ve never understood the instinct of people who would cage a creature meant to fly. It seems contrary to the creature itself, and identifies a deep and abiding cruelty.

Published in: on November 5, 2014 at 1:12 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tonyfitzpatrick.wordpress.com/2014/11/05/bird-from-a-crown-of-knives/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hey Tony,

    I tried to send the following email regarding the paintings you posted on Instagram, but it said the email address was incorrect:

    I’m interested in the pricing on the red bird with black striping. I am an artist in Asheville, NC and I was wondering if you might consider a trade for one of my pieces. See my work here: natebartonworks.com

    Love your work,

    Nate


Leave a Reply

