Lunch Drawing #74: Sam the Shoe Doctor in the Twilight

Lunch Drawing 74: Sam the Shoe Doctor

When I was a kid, there was less disposable income around. Instead of throwing out a worn pair of shoes, people got them repaired, re-soled and re-shaped, and had the heels re-built. There was a shop in the Greyhound Bus depot downtown that had, on any given day, what looked like dozens upon dozens of shoes in various states of repair, a couple of guys working diligently, and a curious, older guy who smelled like a Beefeater martini jaw-boning the customers and making change.

He would look at me and say, “Kid, do you know what they call a man who makes shoes?” and I’d say ,”A Cobbler?”, and he’d say, “That’s right, but what do you call the guys who repair his shitty work?” I told him I didn’t know and he told me, “Why, you call us anything but late for supper.”

All of the guys in the shop would crack up and I’d pretend to laugh, not quite understanding the joke. I was about 11 and my dad would get his wing-tips repaired here from time to time.

The place was full of old shoe repair signs and I never forgot this one.

Published in: on February 14, 2015 at 12:29 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tonyfitzpatrick.wordpress.com/2015/02/14/lunch-drawing-74-sam-the-shoe-doctor-in-the-twilight/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

