Dick Tracy of Chicago

dicktracyofchicago

Every Sunday, I waited patiently while my father read the comics. I would not get them until he was finished. When he’d flip the section over to read the back page, I’d get a peek at what I’d been waiting for all week–Dick Tracy…the Sunday color comics. I loved Dick Tracy.  His creator, Chester Gould, lavished much attention on the villains, as if their evil-doing were manifested into their very physicality.

Flat-Top, The Mole, Prune-Face…they were a gallery of grotesques unlike anything else in newspaper comics. Dick Tracy dispensed justice with a Calvinist zeal, shooting bad guys through the head electrocuting them. It was an immensely violent comic for a family newspaper.

As a kid, I drew Dick Tracy obsessively, as well as the villains. I also got to meet Mr. Gould when I was a kid and he was kind and told me to stay away from hippies and long-haired no-goodniks. I told him I would and was sworn in as a crime-stopper.  So I got that going for me. . .

Published in: on March 24, 2015 at 6:19 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tonyfitzpatrick.wordpress.com/2015/03/24/dick-tracy-of-chicago/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

